Around Town

Ten More Cities Sign on to Chicago Climate Charter

Chicago Mayor Emanuel announced Dec. 26 that 10 additional cities have signed the Chicago Climate Charter, a first-of-its-kind international charter on climate change. The Chicago Climate Charter represents 67 cities and tens of millions of people.

The initial Chicago Climate Charter was signed in early December at the North American Climate Summit, where leaders met to articulate commitments to the Paris Agreement and highlight the scope and scale of city climate action.

Cities around the country continued to express interest in the Chicago Climate Charter in the weeks following the summit. The ten additional Mayors that signed on include:

Mayor Denny Doyle of Beaverton, Oregon
Mayor Suzanne Jones of Boulder, Colorado
Mayor Wade Troxell of Fort Collins, Colorado
Mayor Jim Throgmorton of Iowa City, Iowa
Mayor Greg Fischer of Louisville, Kentucky
Mayor Jorge Elorza of Providence, Rhode Island
Mayor Hillary Schieve of Reno, Nevada
Mayor Sam Liccardo of San Jose, California
Mayor Chris Coleman of Saint Paul, Minnesota
Mayor Joseph Curtatone of Somerville, Massachusetts

The North American Climate Summit was hosted by Mayor Emanuel, in concert with the Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy. The Summit is supported by the Joyce Foundation, the MacArthur Foundation and the Crown Family Philanthropies.

A copy of the Chicago Climate Charter can be found at

View All